GTD – A new Beginning?

Well, it certainly has been a while!  Life gets busy and my poor blog got pushed to a back burner. 

For years, I have been looking for an effective method of organization.  I have asked friends and family, read books, searched the web, signed up for every free webservice you can possibly think of.  None of this made a bit of difference in my life!

I finally thing I struck gold!  I bought David Allen’s book “Getting Things Done”.  This book outlays a system for productivity and organization.  I just finished my first read through and I am impressed.

So here’s the deal, it is a long process getting to the point of implementing the system completely.  So in addition to my other posts I am going to start making notes on the process and my struggles and triumphs in its implementation. 

Hopefully some experienced GTDers will happen upon this page and be able to give me some advice to make things easier as I go along. 

Maybe if I any of you feel like it, you can pick this book up too and take this adventure with me!

 

2 Responses to GTD – A new Beginning?

  1. DAVIDeBOWMAN says:

    Sean,

    I first read Getting Things Done about 3 years ago. It is an amazing book, and a very effective system for getting more out of life. The big challenge for me has not been in the understanding of the theory, but rather in the actual implementation. I have tried a variety of tools and techniques. Even in failure, I have learned through trying new ways to get things done.
    One of the best resources for GTD is 43Folders.com. It is a site put together by Merlin Mann, who is a huge fan of GTD. In addition to listing numerous tools for GTD, he talks about his experiences, has podcasts with David Allen and others, and discusses the pros and cons of the GTD methodology. I think that a good rule of thumb is to follow the Einstein rule of as much as is necessary, but as little as possible. Don’t over complicate it. You don’t have to go overboard with it, as is the tendency of many new to GTD (I know I did).
    I currently use a web based tool for GTD called Toodledo. Remember the Milk, 30 Boxes, GTD Tiddly Wiki, and numerous others are out there too. I have seen Gmail used as an implementation tool, and even good old fashioned Outlook can work. Pick what you are comfortable with, use it, and go from there.
    David Allen’s book Ready for Anything is also worth reading. While it is less tactical, it does a nice job of articulating the concept of GTD and then helping you to internalize the methodology. Good luck!

  2. dannielo says:

    For implementing GTD you might try out this web-based application:

    Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

    As with the last update, now Gtdagenda has full Someday/Maybe functionality, you can easily move your tasks and projects between “Active”, “Someday/Maybe” and “Archive”. This will clear your mind, and will boost your productivity.

    Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

